Cine Actor Dino Morea and Vivek Jain inaugurate a Fitness Station for walkers/joggers at Mahalakshmi
7 Races on Thursday
First Race at 2 pm
Rotary Day attracts
record attendance of 10,500
at Mumbai
highest ever for a non classic day
RWITC - Rotary Foundation
partnership raise nearly 3 crore
for worthy social projects
DG Ajay Gupta confirms to
Chairman Vivek Jain
that Rotary wishes to make this event an annual feature
15 left-in the Gr.3
A C Ardeshir Trophy
11 left-in the
Auto Hangar Metro Motors
Sir H M Mehta Million
9 left-in the
Gracias Saldanha Memorial Million

Formerly known as “The Turf Stakes” re-christened “The A. C. Ardeshir Memorial Gold Cup” (later came to be known as The A. C. Ardeshir Trophy) in memory of a past Chairman of the RWITC, Ltd. and a leading Owner, continues to be one of Western India’s leading Graded races and has been widely acclaimed as being one of the top most mile races in the country.
First run on Sunday, 19th March 1961 which was initially a handicap race for horses in Class IV run over a distance of one and a quarter miles. The inaugural running saw bay filly “REQUEST” for owner Mrs. N.E.D. Pandole winning the race ridden by N. H. Remedios saddled by D. N. Adenwalla.
“CLASSIC JEWEL” owned by Mr. & Mrs. K. M. Mehta and Mr. M. K. Mehta trained by S. S. Shah, P. Shroff astride, got the credit of winning this race on Sunday, 7th December 1986 when it got Grade 3 status and got converted to a mile. Interestingly, Jockey Shroff lost his stirrups in the final furlong but went on to win the race. Four years later, this race was upgraded to Gr.2 status when “SCORPIO” donning the silks of Mr. Vijay Mallya and Mrs. P. K. Mehra trained by B. Chenoy and ridden by P. Shroff won this race.
The trainers to win this race the maximum number of times are D. N. Adenwalla, R. R. Byramji, B. K. Lagad and Imtiaz A. Sait (4 times each), and the jockey to score most wins has been P. Shroff (5 times) followed by M. Narredu (3 times) till date.
The late A. C. Ardeshir was a pioneer of Indian racing for much of his life. He worked towards upbringing of the Club throughout his life. His passion for racing and thoroughbreds found its expression for many years and was one of the most distinguished personalities of the Turf in the 20th Century.
This race reverts back to Grade 3 status.